“Dr. Hyman, I’ve recently gone gluten-free, and I’ve seen tons of replacements for traditionally gluten-laden foods,” a writer recently emailed me. “I’m a little suspicious, but are any of these choices healthy?”

We are all very aware that “gluten-free” has become a major buzz term. Restaurants proudly offer options like gluten-free bread, and even mainstream supermarkets have whole aisles dedicated to the trend. Nearly everyone has jumped on the gluten-free bandwagon. Continue Reading


Eat These The Next Time You Get The Munchies

I defy anyone who gets a case of the munchies to tell me that their willpower alone will be enough to ensure that they don’t reach for the cookie jar or the potato chips when no one else is looking. And if you live alone? Come on. If there is no one else around to see your transgressions then you are going to binge on whatever you can get your hands on. That’s just what we are – creatures of comfort food.

Maybe like me, you avoid buying the things you love to eat. If I have something tasty and within reach, it is going to get eaten. I might be able to stave off for a day or two the desire to slice open a bag of cookies, but I give in eventually, as I am sure you do. So what are we supposed to do, if this kind of behavior is continually contributing to the number of inches around our waist?

One solution is to replace the “bad” snacks, which is practically every piece of junk food that is sold at your local convenience store, with healthy dessert and snack alternatives. But what do those look like? More importantly, what do they TASTE like? I have not-so-fond memories of “healthy” cookies that my mother used to make when the sugar and butter supplies in our household ran low. Thankfully broccoli cookies never appeared on the menu, but nor did anything healthy that also passed as a tasty snack. Continue Reading  

Leave a Reply

